Skip to product information
  • The Paris Library: A Novel by Janet Skeslien Charles
1 of 1

The Paris Library: A Novel by Janet Skeslien Charles

Regular price
$ 72.00
Regular price
Sale price
$ 72.00
Publisher : Atria Books
Binding : Hardcover
Pages : 368
Publishing Date : 2/9/2021
Condition : BRAND NEW
Instant New York Times bestseller USA TODAY and Washington Post bestseller LibraryReads Pick and n amed a Most Anticipated Book of the Year by Library Journal and Goodreads ? ? ? ? ? Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal. Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them. A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors— The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places. Amazon.com Review The Paris Library is a fresh and compelling World War II story that reminded this reader of Kristin Hannah’s breakout, The Nightingale. Toggling between France in 1939 and Montana in the 1980s, this novel is a love letter to the power of books. While it looks and smells like historical fiction, this book has even broader appeal. –Sarah Gelman, Amazon Book Review