Established In 2005 | 617-599-2003
Cart 0
the green fairy book edited by andrew lang illustrated by reisie lonette

The Green Fairy Book Edited by Andrew Lang ; Illustrated by Reisie Lonette


New York : Looking Glass Library, 1960. Hardcover. 470 pages ; 21 cm. Price-clipped dust jacket with minimal wear. Pictorial green cover board. Pages are age toned and unmarked. Binding is firm.

This is the third of Andrew Lang's popular fairy-tale collections and contains more than forty stories from all over the world, among them such favorites as The Story of Caliph Stork, Heart of Ice, and The Story of the Fisherman and His Wife. Like its famous Blue and Red predecessors, this collection has been delighting children for over sixty years.
The editor tells us in his introduction that the parents who first told these enchanting stories to their young listeners long ago really believed "that witches could turn men into beasts, that beasts could speak, that magic rings could make their owners invisible ..." Perhaps this is why these tales have lost none of their freshness and wonder for children of today and for grownups "who have not forgotten how they once were children."

Looking Glass Library also publishes two companion volumes, the Blue and Red Fairy Books, and all three have been charmingly illustrated by Reisie Lonette. Ages 8-11 includes a wide range of books for children of all ages: myths, legends, and fairy tales; animal and nature stories; adventures both magic and realistic; humor and nonsense; stories of everyday life and of other times and places; anthologies of verse and prose; true stories; and translations from other languages. Many of these books have long been out of print, hard to find, or unavailable at prices most children can afford.

Whether old or new, each book is among the best of its. kind, written with the skill and imaginative truth that give children an appreciation of good literature, and enlarge their sympathies and understanding of the world in which they live.

The consulting editors of Looking Glass Library are Phyllis McGinley, W. H. Auden, and Edmund Wilson. The series is distributed by Random House.

A complete list of titles will be found in the back of this book.

  • :: 30-Day Money Back Guarantee
  • :: Paypal Accepted Here
  • :: We Ship Worldwide
  • :: Delivered Within 3-5 Business Days
  • :: We Ship Via United States Postal Service
  • :: Free Shipping In The United States

Questions & Answers

Have a Questions?

Let us know. We're here to help!

Ask a Question

More from this collection