Established In 2005 | 617-599-2003
Cart 0
Retrospectives and Conclusions by Igor Stravinsky and Robert Craft

Retrospectives and Conclusions by Igor Stravinsky and Robert Craft


New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1969. First edition, first printing. Stated "First Edition" on copyright page. Hardcover. ix, 350, xi pages ; 22 cm. In very good condition with original price clipped dust jacket, tight binding, clean pages and free of markings.

In this, the sixth of the now-famous collaborations by Stravinsky and Robert Craft, the great composer's verbal brilliance is presented in Craft's artful juxtaposition of Stravinsky's table talk and writings: essays, reviews, polemics. Here we watch the pyrotechnics of a mind ; in which music is linked to the intellectual and social currents of our time by a vast—and vastly entertaining—connective tissue.

The moral implications of Beethoven's greatest quartets; the non-novelty of Karlheinz Stockhausen's seventy-minute chord; a confrontation of Monostatos with Eldridge Cleaver; the relative merits and flaws of three recordings of Le Sacre du printemps; today's young composer settling down to commune with his Moog—all are fuel for Stravinsky's light-shedding intellectual flights. Excerpts from Craft's diaries of his long association with Stravinsky and the Stravinsky circle, as well as his hitherto unpublished notes on Berg's Lulu, are included. This book, like its five predecessors, is at once superb reading and a fascinating and important contribution to modern musical history.

Igor Stravinsky (born at Oranienbaum, Russia, June 18, 1882) has been recognized for sixty years as one of the great composers. His compositions are in the repertoires of instrumental and vocal musicians throughout the world. Stravinsky also is renowned for his extraordinary erudition and wit, both of which illuminate his published writings. He lives in Hollywood, California.

Robert Craft (born at Kingston, New York, October 20,192 3) is the first American to have conducted both of Alban Berg's operas—Wozzeck and Lulu— and is the author of monographs on Stravinsky's Le Sucre du printemps and Les Noces. He has collaborated with Stravinsky on five other books: CONVERSATIONS WITH IGOR STRAVINSKY (1959), MEMORIES AND COMMENTARIES ( i960), EXPOSITIONS AND DEVELOPMENTS (1962), DIA-LOGUES AND A DIARY (1963), and THEMES AND EPISODES (1966).

  • :: 30-Day Money Back Guarantee
  • :: Paypal Accepted Here
  • :: We Ship Worldwide
  • :: Delivered Within 3-5 Business Days
  • :: We Ship Via United States Postal Service
  • :: Free Shipping In The United States

Questions & Answers

Have a Questions?

Let us know. We're here to help!

Ask a Question

More from this collection