Skip to product information
  • Looking Backward 2000-1887 by Edward Bellamy with an introduction by Heywood Broun
1 of 1

Looking Backward 2000-1887 by Edward Bellamy with an introduction by Heywood Broun

Regular price
$ 20.00
Regular price
Sale price
$ 20.00

New York : The Modern Library, [1917]. Hardcover. 276 pages ; 18 cm. $0.95 dust jacket and it was designed by E Mcknight Kauffer. Lean to spine. Previous owner gift inscription on the front free endpaper. Marginal notes on page 4 of this book. No other markings elsewhere. Binding is firm.


Looking Backward (2000-1887)
By Edward Bellamy

Few books in the annals of American literature have exercised so far-reaching an influence in awakening interest in the social order as has Edward Bellamy's utopian novel, Looking Backward. In its own field it is a classic in the tradition of Plato's Republic, Thomas More's Utopia and William Morris's News from Nowhere. Today, while a new world is in the making and everyone is venturing guesses as to its reorganization, this novel is a visionary s guide to our own future. Its inclusion in the Modern Library semes gives new emphasis to the perennial timeliness of Bellamy's masterpiece.